|The Aurelius Church, consecrated in 1071|
|Note the deer, or Hirsch, in the Wappen|
(coat of arms) of Hirsau
|The Church of St. Aurelius, built almost 1,000 years ago. It was spared the fires that consumed the Monastery of Hirsau just across the Nagold River there.|
|The Nagold River, which begins in the northern Black Forest at Urnagold and |
joins the Enz River in Pforzheim.
|Carolingian-era bridge across the Nagold|
|Hirsau Abbey ruins nestled in the Black Forest|
|Interior of St. Aurelius today|
A variety of beautiful window
frames still remain 400 years
following their destruction
|Renaissance-styled Jagdschloß of the Dukes of Württemberg|
Two photographs below of the main gate to the former Ducal Jagdschloß, or Hunting Lodge/Castle. This also served as a bell tower. Bells have been restored to the tower and chime the hours beautifully throughout the day even now. This has been restored and a bit altered since its destruction by fire in 1692.
The Chapel of Our Lady (Marienkirche), which is just outside of the ruined cloister, is still in use today.
|View of the single remaining tower |
of the Basilica ruins
|The ducal hunting-lodge ruins are in the background|
|Note the ruins to the left in the photo. These supported the walls of a side chapel just off the left side of what was the main altar of the huge church.|
|View of the side-altar chapel ruins from the other side, with the Marienkirche in the background|
|Marienkirche from the side of the Jagdschloß|
Two floors, two chapels
|Remnant walls of the cloister. The door led to the Summer Refectory, where the monks ate.|
The monks dormitory would have been on the floor above this.
|Fortunately, this one of the two Basilica towers survived the blaze. Note the relief |
with the monk in the middle looking out into the distance. After the destruction
of the monastery in 1692, this tower was used as a prison!
|The cross marks where the altar stood in the Basilica|
|A view of the refectory kitchen ruins|
|A view out of the bell tower of the main gate|
|Hirsau today, beneath the walls of the former monastery ruins, nestled in the beautiful Black Forest.|
|Another view of the cloister ruins of Hirsau Abbey|
|These two arches will lead you into the monastery grounds. There are other accesses, but this is how I got through.|
|Another way in, around back.|
|A number of beautiful examples of Fachwerk (half-timbered) structures |
can also be found here.
|A closer view of the ruins of the Jagdschloß of the Dukes of Württemberg|
|Hirsau train station|